• Modified Live - Cadwell Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Kiyo claims top spot as Shakey crashes in final free practice

Sunday, August 24 2014

Ryuichi Kiyonari stormed to the top of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship free practice times in the final free practice session at Cadwell Park whilst standings leader Shane 'Shakey' Byrne crashed out unhurt at Hall Bends.

Kiyonari started the session strongly ahead of Josh Brookes on the Milwaukee Yamaha who had been working to close the deficit to the triple champions yesterday. Byrne had earlier stormed ahead of the Australian to push himself to second, however with just under 20 minutes on the clock the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider crashed unhurt at Hall Bends and was forced to watch the remainder of the session from the sidelines.

Byrne held on to third place and in the final minute Peter Hickman fired himself up to fourth at his home round for the RAF Reserves Honda team. He pushed an improving Tommy Bridewell back to fifth as he overcame a difficult opening day yesterday.

Barry Burrell pushed the WD-40 Kawasaki up to sixth ahead of Jon Kirkham who crashed his Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki in the closing stages of the session; he was unhurt in the crash but had to settle for seventh ahead of Chris Walker on the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki.

Dan Linfoot was ninth fastest despite being another rider to crash out in the session, the Quattro Plant Kawasaki rider was only able to complete four laps and is now aiming to come back stronger in qualifying whilst Josh Waters edged out his Tyco Suzuki team-mate John Hopkins to complete the top ten.

Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki's James Ellison completed nine laps of the final session as he prepared to save his best for Datatag Qualifying this afternoon, he was seventeenth fastest on his return from injury.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, free practice three:

  1. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) 1m:27.436s
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.010s
  3. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.257s
  4. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves Honda) +0.596s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.598s
  6. Barry Burrell (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +0.609s
  7. Jon Kirkham (Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki) +0.883s
  8. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.008s
  9. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +1.304s
  10. Josh Waters (Tyco Suzuki) +1.489s