• British Superbikes - Cadwell Park
  • MSV Trackdays
GB3 Race 1: Voisin storms to second win of the year at Snetterton

Saturday, June 25 2022

Carlin's Callum Voisin claimed his second GB3 Championship win of the year with victory in race one at Snetterton.

The pole-sitter made a great start to lead the pack down to Riches on the first lap and led every lap despite almost constant pressure from Hitech GP's Luke Browning and Fortec's Joel Granfors.

Browning started third but passed Granfors on the run to the first corner despite the Swede's efforts to close the gap. From there, the lead trio operated almost as one and were covered by little over a second, with Voisin holding on to the lead to claim his second victory in two race event weekends.

Browning finished just half a second behind in second place and reclaimed the championship lead from Granfors, who finished just four tenths of a second further behind.

Voisin's teammate Roberto Faria gained a place from his starting position to claim fourth ahead of local man Tom Lebbon's Elite Motorsport machine. Lebbon held off a last lap charge from teammate John Bennett, who finished just a tenth of a second behind at the line.

Javier Sagrera moved up from ninth on the grid to take seventh, and only half a second further back from Bennett.

Arden's Alex Connor claimed eighth ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's McKenzy Cresswell, with Douglas Motorsport's Max Esterson completing the top-10 and 0.195s away from the British contender.

Voisin's good start meant he established a lead of 1.1 seconds at the end of the second lap, but after that, Browning was able to trim the gap ever so slightly in the first half of the race.

But despite that, Voisin was able to secure his second victory in four races.

First lap dramas accounted for Zak Taylor and Tommy Smith, while Matthew Rees started fourth on the grid, but dropped down to sixth on the first lap, then suffered an issue at Murrays and pitted into retirement.

GB3 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Snetterton race one result:
1. Callum Voisin, Carlin, 12 laps
2. Luke Browning, Hitech GP, +0.526s
3. Joel Granfors, Fortec Motorsport, +0.942s
4. Roberto Faria, Carlin, +2.265s
5. Tom Lebbon, Elite Motorsport, +8.333s
6. John Bennett, Elite Motorsport, +8.504s
7. Javier Sagrera, Carlin, +9.070s
8. Alex Connor, Arden Motorsport, +10.222s
9. McKenzy Cresswell, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.669s
10. Max Esterson, Douglas Motorsport, +11.864s
11. Bryce Aron, Hitech GP, +16.742s
12. Branden Oxley, Chris Dittmann Racing, +17.785s
13. Nico Christodoulou, Arden Motorsport, +18.415s
14. Cian Shields, Hitech GP, +21.733s
15. Marcos Flack, Douglas Motorsport, +21.965s
16. James Hedley, Elite Motorsport, +30.139s
17. Mikkel Grundtvig, Fortec Motorsport, +34.473s
DNF. David Morales, Arden Motorsport, 5 laps
DNF. Matthew Rees, JHR Developments, 4 laps
DNF. Tommy Smith, Douglas Motorsport, 1 lap
DNF. Zak Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, 1 lap