• British Superbikes - Cadwell Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Waberski victorious in feisty second Snetterton GB4 contest

Sunday, June 26 2022

South African Jarrod Waberski claimed his second GB4 win of the year in race two at Snetterton this afternoon, as the championship battle took a dramatic twist.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver made a good start from second on the grid to pass pole sitter Nikolas Taylor at Riches on the first lap and led from there, but behind there was drama by the bucket load.

Waberski's teammate Mills moved into second on the second lap with a feisty move, but he banged wheels with Taylor in the process.

After that, Taylor seemed to lose a bit of pace in the early stages, and had to fend off a train of cars. But after the mid-race point, the pace returned and Taylor was able to apply major pressure to Mills, allowing Waberski to make good his escape.

Taylor fought back past but moments later, more contact between the pair on the penultimate lap eliminated the British-Malaysian driver who went straight on at Wilson and into the barriers at low speed, and cost Mills his front wing.

That drama led to a crazy final lap as Hillspeed's Max Marzorati and Elite's Jack Sherwood found their way past the hobbled Mills, with Marzorati taking second at the line in a near photo finish, seven seconds behind winner Waberski and having started the final tour in fifth place.

Marzorati's teammate Megan Gilkes also found her way past Mills and took fourth with the Kevin Mills Racing contender falling to fifth.

Chloe Grant was sixth for Graham Brunton Racing ahead of teammate Logan Hannah, who recovered from a mid-race off to take seventh ahead of Fortec's Jessica Edgar.

Until the last lap chaos, Waberksi's lead had gradually extended to two seconds, but he took full advantage of all the squabbling to win by over seven seconds and put himself firmly back in the championship fight. Meanwhile, Marzorati has taken the lead in the championship after Taylor's retirement. 

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Snetterton race two result:
1. Jarrod Waberski, Kevin Mills Racing, 10 laps
2. Max Marzorati, Hillspeed, +7.424s
3. Jack Sherwood, Elite Motorsport, +7.510s
4. Megan Gilkes, Hillspeed, +8.871s
5. Tom Mills, Kevin Mills Racing, +9.119s
6. Chloe Grant, Graham Brunton Racing, +13.752s
7. Logan Hannah, Graham Brunton Racing, +18.840s
8. Jessica Edgar, Fortec Motorsport, +19.777s
DNF. Nikolas Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, 9 laps completed